Lelita Baldock is an award-winning author of historical fiction.

Lelita's second novel through Storm Publishing, The Girl Who Crossed Mountains is available for pre-order now.

Lelita's debut WWII novel The Baker's Secret Is OUT NOW through. Get your copy through Amazon today.

Born and raised in Australia, Lelita holds a Bachelor of Arts majoring in English Literature and History, from the University of Adelaide, making the transition to author of historical fiction a natural fit.

She loves all things reading and writing, and when not researching and laying down words for a novel can be found with a good book and an icy white wine in hand. Read more...

Sign up to her newsletter to stay in touch

 


The Girl Who Crossed Mountains

Coming July 10

PRE-ORDER NOW

San Sebastian, 1936. Abene García, a fisherman’s daughter, must make a terrible choice: risk being caught in the crossfires of the escalating Spanish Civil War or abandon her seaside home and make the perilous journey across the Pyrenees to the border of France. But the safety she finds on the other side of the mountains is shattered when the Nazis enter the country. Abene won’t stand by and do nothing while innocent Jewish men, women and children are in desperate need – not when she knows a way to escape.

Abene has crossed the mountains before, and she knows the dangers. Joining the resistance network, she helps to set up a route across the mountains. But when her safe house is discovered, a group of injured Allied soldiers is shot down, except for one – a Canadian pilot too sick to make the crossing alone. Abene knows what she must do. She will cross the mountains once again, back to the home she left years before, where her journey truly began, and many dangers remain…

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah, Kelly Rimmer and Fiona Valpy, The Girl Who Crossed Mountains is an extraordinary tale of survival, family bonds and the power of love to persevere against all odds.
 

Read more


The Baker's Secret

OUT NOW

In Nazi-occupied Latvia, two sisters are forced to make an impossible choice. To save a child, one sister must flee, while the other must stay behind. The secret of what happens next will endure for generations. But the truth won’t stay hidden forever…

An emotional and heartbreaking tale of sacrifice, courage and love that spotlights the resilience of women in the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah, Fiona Valpy and Kelly Rimmer.

Read more





Blog

Reckoning of Rheged: book three, is it the end?

12 Sep 2023

The Reckoning of Rheged is the stunning third novel in Maria Johnson's beautiful trilogy about Daniel and his journey through Dark Ages England. But will it be the last?

Read more...

The Village People Spy

12 Apr 2023

I am through to round two in the NYC Midnight Short Story Challenge 2023. Not only that - my entry came top in my group. Here's the entry (language warning)

Read more...


Join my newsletter

Sign up for my newsletter.  Don't worry, I won't fill your inbox!

I'd love for you to join up and share and connect.

Once a month I send out a newsletter update covering my own writing, any great books, authors, blogs, podcasts or review sites I have discovered, tips and ideas about writing in general and anything else that captures my interest. I also feature interviews with amazing creatives across all of the arts! You can also view these on my blog.

Sign up using the form below:

Subscribe

* indicates required